News

David Bazan: Fighting His Conscience
by Clay Masters

READ ARTICLE | DOWNLOAD AUDIO

In a 15-passenger Chevy van equipped with a makeshift bed and pantry, David Bazan’s GPS system has him arriving right on time at his show in Omaha. At this point, he’s one week into a tour, and he has been driving all day from Colorado Springs.

“[Touring] is how I’m able to make ends meet,” Bazan says, “because band touring costs so much money to bring a bunch of guys out.”

Bazan released his solo debut in 2009. Many music critics called Curse Your Branches Bazan’s breakup letter to God. (SEE MORE)

 

Tune-in Wednesday to watch David’s live performance and chat from the Barsuk office in Seattle. Starts at 6pm (pacific time) / 9pm (eastern time). This will be a one-time live event with no replays.

Wolves At The Door!

April 29, 2011

in News

*click on the little black arrow on the right side of the music player to download the MP3.

It’s clear now that “trickle down” is actually “vacuum up” and yet working class people continue to vote against their own economic interests. Wake up! Anyone whose primary vocation is “making money” is a predator: they may wrestle around with you for a while but eventually they’re gonna go with their instincts and kill and eat you. – David Bazan

Wolves wait at your door
for your permission
slyly you invite them
on one condition
that they prepare a feast
from your provisions
of root and wild beast
for you to eat
surprise
they took your money
and they ate your kids
and they had their way
with your wife a lil bit
while you wept on the porch
with your head in your hands
cursing taxes and the government
cause you’re a goddamn fool
and i love you
yeah i love you
look into your eyes
your former glory
bright and open wide
like easter morning
how the light has dimmed
and how the fear of everything
is creeping in

New Album Pre-Order Now!

April 22, 2011

in News

PRE-ORDER NOW!

David Bazan | Strange Negotiations
Release date: May 24, 2011
Record Label: Barsuk Records
Format: CD / LP / MP3

Tracklist:

01. Wolves At The Door
02. Level With Yourself
03. Future Past
04. People
05. Virginia
06. Eating Paper
07. Messes
08. Don’t Change
09. Strange Negotiations
10. Won’t Let Go

* with Cotton Jones
** with Via Audio
*** With S. Carey
**** with Rocky Votolato

06/01 Wed – Salt Lake City UT – Kilby Court *
06/02 Thu – Denver CO – Hi Dive *
06/03 Fri – Kansas City MO – Record Bar *
06/04 Sat – Council Bluffs IA – Westfair Amphitheater – w/ Bright Eyes
06/06 Mon – St Paul MN  – Turf Club *
06/08 Wed – Chicago IL – Lincoln Hall *
06/10 Fri – St Louis MO – Old Rock House *
06/11 Sat – Columbus OH  – The Basement *
06/12 Sun – Akron OH – Musica *
06/13 Mon – Pontiac MI – Pike Room
06/14 Tue – Toronto ON – Lee’s Palace
06/15 Wed – Ottawa ON – Maverick’s
06/17 Fri – Ithaca NY – The Haunt
06/18 Sat – Hamden CT – The Space **
06/19 Sun – Cambridge MA  – TT the Bears ***
06/22 Wed – New York NY  – Bowery Ballroom ***
06/23 Thu – Philadelphia PA  – Johnny Brenda’s ***
06/24 Fri – Washington DC  – Black Cat ***
06/25 Sat – Chapel Hill NC  – Local 506 – w/ Centro-matic
06/27 Mon – Orlando FL – The Social ***
06/28 Tue – Atlanta GA  – The Earl ***
06/29 Wed – Birmingham AL  – The Bottletree ***
06/30 Thu – New Orleans LA  – One Eyed Jacks ***
07/01 Fri – Baton Rouge LA – Spanish Moon ***
07/02 Sat – Houston TX  – Fitzgerald’s ****
07/03 Sun – Denton TX  – Dan’s Silverleaf ****
07/05 Tue – Austin TX – ACL Satellite Sets ****
07/07 Thu – Phoenix AZ  – Sail Inn ****
07/08 Fri – San Diego CA  – Casbah ****
07/09 Sat – Long Beach CA  – Alex’s Bar ****
07/10 Sun – Los Angeles CA  – Troubadour ****
07/12 Tue – Visalia CA – Cellar Door ****
07/13 Wed – San Francisco CA  – The Independent ****
07/16 Sat – Seattle WA – Showbox ****

2011 Living Room Tour

February 8, 2011

in News

Tickets are on sale now.

www.undertowtickets.com

Fri 3/18 – Spokane WA – SOLD OUT
Sat 3/19 – Missoula MT – SOLD OUT
Sun 3/20 – Bozeman MT – SOLD OUT
Tue 3/22 – Ft Collins CO – SOLD OUT
Wed 3/23 – Colorado Springs CO – SOLD OUT
Thu 3/24 – Omaha NE – SOLD OUT
Fri 3/25 – Iowa City IA – SOLD OUT
Sat 3/26 – Minneapolis MN – SOLD OUT
Sun 3/27 – Milwaukee WI – SOLD OUT
Mon 3/28 – Madison WI – SOLD OUT
Tue 3/29 – Chicago IL – SOLD OUT
Wed 3/30 – Grand Rapids MI – SOLD OUT
Thu 3/31 – Cleveland OH – SOLD OUT
Fri 4/1 – Rochester NY – SOLD OUT
Sat 4/2 – Montpelier VT – SOLD OUT
Sun 4/3 – Allston MA – SOLD OUT
Mon 4/4 – Brooklyn NY – SOLD OUT
Tue 4/5 – Brooklyn NY – SOLD OUT
Wed 4/6 – Mechanicsburg PA – SOLD OUT
Thu 4/7 – Arlington VA – SOLD OUT
Fri 4/8 – Virginia Beach VA – SOLD OUT
Sat 4/9 – Alpharetta GA – SOLD OUT
Sun 4/10 – Nashville TN – SOLD OUT
Mon 4/11 – Nashville TN – SOLD OUT
Tue 4/12 – Birmingham AL – SOLD OUT
Wed 4/13 – New Orleans LA – SOLD OUT
Thu 4/14 – Baton Rouge LA – SOLD OUT
Fri 4/15 – Houston TX – SOLD OUT
Sat 4/16 – Denton TX – SOLD OUT
Sun 4/17 – Austin TX – SOLD OUT
Tue 4/19 – Tucson AZ – SOLD OUT
Wed 4/20 – Phoenix AZ – SOLD OUT
Thu 4/21 – San Diego CA – SOLD OUT
Fri 4/22 – Los Angeles CA – SOLD OUT
Sat 4/23 – Visalia CA – SOLD OUT
Sun 4/24 – Fremont CA – SOLD OUT
Mon 4/25 – Oakland CA – SOLD OUT
Tue 4/26 – Eureka CA – SOLD OUT
Wed 4/27 – Corvallis OR
Thu 4/28 – Portland OR – SOLD OUT
Sat 4/30 – Southworth WA – SOLD OUT

We are looking for people to host living room shows all across the USA in March and April. Please get in touch if you live in one of these areas and would like to host a show. Details below.

03/18/11 Fri – Spokane area
03/19/11 Sat – Montana
03/20/11 Sun – Montana
03/21/11 Mon – off
03/22/11 Tue – Colorado
03/23/11 Wed – Colorado
03/24/11 Thu – Nebraska
03/25/11 Fri – Nebraska
03/26/11 Sat – Iowa
03/27/11 Sun – Minneapolis area
03/28/11 Mon – off
03/29/11 Tue – Chicago area
03/30/11 Wed – Detroit area
03/31/11 Thu – Cleveland area
04/01/11 Fri – Buffalo / Rochester
04/02/11 Sat – Syracuse / Utica / Albany
04/03/11 Sun – Boston area
04/04/11 Mon – off
04/05/11 Tue – New York / Brooklyn / Hoboken
04/06/11 Wed – Philadelphia area
04/07/11 Thu – Washington DC / Baltimore
04/08/11 Fri – Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
04/09/11 Sat – Columbia / Charleston SC
04/10/11 Sun – Atlanta area
04/11/11 Mon – off
04/12/11 Tue – Birmingham area
04/13/11 Wed – Louisiana
04/14/11 Thu – Louisiana
04/15/11 Fri – Houston area
04/16/11 Sat – Dallas area
04/17/11 Sun – Austin / San Antonio
04/18/11 Mon – off
04/19/11 Tue – Tucson AZ
04/20/11 Wed – Phoenix AZ
04/21/11 Thu – San Diego area
04/22/11 Fri – Los Angeles area
04/23/11 Sat – Bakersfield / Fresno / Visalia
04/24/11 Sun – Bay area
04/25/11 Mon – off
04/26/11 Tue – Arcata / Chico / Redding
04/27/11 Wed – Eugene / Medford / Corvallis
04/28/11 Thu – Portland area

Here’s how it works.

1. You have a house or loft space that can comfortably and safely host 40-50 people. A place with a big living room, finished basement or other interior space would be ideal. Sorry, we can’t do these shows outside. There would need to be enough parking nearby and your neighbors should be cool. It would be a huge bummer if someone called the cops because of all the extra cars and people coming to your house. You should probably not do this if you live in a small apartment with a bunch of uptight neighbors or a cranky landlord.

2. The shows will not be open to the public and no tickets will be sold at the door. We will pre-sell a set number of tickets for each show on David’s website before the show. Be realistic on how many people your place can hold. We need to know how many tickets we can sell in advance. We’ve found that 40-50 people is what the average living room can hold. Ticket price will be $20.

3. We will provide you with a detailed list of everyone who will be coming to the show. The host won’t have to deal with any money and will only need to check people off the list as they arrive.

4. The host can have up to 5 additional free tickets for the show. If you have other friends who want to come to the show you can direct them to the link to buy tickets on-line.

5. You don’t need any sort of sound system. All you need is a chair for David to sit on.

6. Your home address will not be published on the web and will only be given to those people who purchase tickets.

7. The shows will not be promoted or advertised anywhere except David’s websites.

If you are interested, please follow these steps:

1. READ THIS

2. email trey@billions.com AND bob@undertowmusic.com with all of these things:
– a. your address
– b. a few photos of your living room
– c. which dates and times work for you

3. sit tight and we’ll get back to as soon as possible if we can work your home into our schedule

After we have the dates and locations sorted out we will announce the dates and tickets will go on sale at undertowtickets.com.

Stay tuned.

David will be playing 4 Living Room Shows next week. These will be the last Seattle area shows for a while.

Wed Jan 19 : Olympia, WA (60 miles from Seattle)
Thu Jan 20 : Bellingham, WA (90 miles from Seattle)
Sat Jan 22 : Puyallup, WA (40 miles from Seattle)
Sun Jan 23 : Gig Harbor, WA (45 miles from Seattle)

Tickets are on sale now http://www.undertowtickets.com

We’ll be booking a full US tour of Living Room Shows in the spring. Stay tuned for details.

These living room shows are confirmed and tickets are on sale Wednesday, December 8 at noon PST!

December 17 – Seattle, WA – SOLD OUT
December 19 – Seattle, WA – SOLD OUT
December 29 – Phoenix, AZ – SOLD OUT
December 30 – Phoenix, AZ – SOLD OUT

David and his band will be touring with Jimmy Eat World in January and February. Please come out and say hello if you can.

Fri Jan 28: Sunshine Theatre – Albuquerque NM – All ages
Sat Jan 29: Diamond Ballroom – Oklahoma City OK
Sun Jan 30: Backstage Live – San Antonio TX – All Ages
Mon Jan 31: House of Blues – New Orleans LA – 18+
Wed Feb 2: The Ritz – Tampa FL – All Ages
Thu Feb 3: Revolution – Ft Lauderdale FL – All Ages
Fri Feb 4: House of Blues – Lake Buena Vista FL – All Ages
Sat Feb 5: Amos’ Southend – Charlotte NC – 16+
Mon Feb 7: 40 Watt Club – Athens GA – 18+
Tue Feb 8: The National – Richmond VA – All Ages
Wed Feb 9: UMW Dodd Auditorium – Fredericksburg VA – 18+
Fri Feb 11: House of Blues – AC Atlantic City NJ – 18+
Sat Feb 12: Crocodile Rock – Allentown PA – All Ages
Sun Feb 13: 930 Club – Washington DC – All Ages
Mon Feb 14: Club Zoo – Pittsburgh PA – All Ages
Wed Feb 16: House of Blues – Cleveland OH – All Ages
Thu Feb 17: Bogart’s – Cincinnati OH – All Ages
Fri Feb 18: Cannery Ballroom – Nashville TN – 18+
Sat Feb 19: The Lyric Theater – Oxford MS – All Ages
Sun Feb 21: La Zona Rosa – Austin TX – All Ages

More dates will be announced soon.